Student Portal


Department Chair Receives Prestigious Teaching Award

Doug Parrish, program chair of Industrial and Technical Trades at Edgecombe Community College, is this year’s recipient of the Hitachi Astemo Endowed Faculty Chair Award. As part of his award, he received a chair with an engraved brass nameplate.

Doug Parrish, chair of Industrial and Technical Trades at Edgecombe Community College, has received the 2022 Hitachi Astemo Endowed Faculty Chair Award, which rewards excellence in teaching.

“Thank you so much for this wonderful honor,” Parrish said in accepting the award during a recent ceremony. “I teach people how to earn more than their teachers, and it’s a privilege to watch them learn and grow. Our students are with us for a very short time, and we have to use that time wisely.”

Award nominees are asked to describe their teaching philosophy. As Parrish states, “I learned a long time ago that I am the instructor, but the students are the best teachers. If you encourage them to help one another, to explain things to one another, and to assist with problem solving, the learning is internalized and personalized instead of being something I did to them. It’s the transfer of ownership of learning.”

Lynwood Roberson, executive director of the ECC Foundation, said in making the presentation, “While reviewing his portfolio as part of our selection process, I was amazed by the various certifications he has obtained over the years. The majority of these are directly related to his impact on students and their future earning power.”

Parrish joined Edgecombe Community College in 2000 as coordinator of business and industry projects with local industries. In 2002, he transitioned to the faculty as a department chair and instructor.

As chair of Industrial and Technical Trades, he oversees programs in Electrical/Electronics Technology, Industrial and Technical Trades, Industrial Systems, and Manufacturing Technology.

Parrish holds M.A.Ed. and B.S. degrees in technology education from East Carolina University. He also earned three associate degrees at Beaufort County Community College.

He has been an advisor to several SkillsECC teams and assisted with the college’s High Altitude Balloon Team.

Parrish holds numerous industrial education certifications, including WorkKeys, World Class Manufacturing, Total Quality Transformation Trainer, and Parker Hannifin Fluid Power.

The Hitachi Astemo Endowed Faculty Chair Award is the highest distinction the college can bestow on a member of its faculty. As the chair holder, Parrish receives $2,500 and a chair with an engraved brass nameplate.

He was selected by a committee of ECC personnel from a pool of several nominees who submitted a performance portfolio, a philosophy of teaching, and an essay.

Parrish is the fifteenth Endowed Faculty Chair Award holder at the college. Previous recipients are instructors Nacole Everette, 2021; Rick Basile, 2019; Stephen Herring, 2018: Carole Mehle, 2017; Jennifer Derby, 2016; Dr. Johnica Ellis-Kiser, 2015; Rebecca Stamilio-Ehret, 2014; Ann Kent, 2013; Tim King, 2012; Pam Morgan, 2011; Ralph Webb, 2010; Dr. Bruce Panneton, 2009; J.H. Koonce, 2008; and Monika Fleming, 2007. The award was not presented in 2020 due to the pandemic.