Student Portal


ECC Students Named to Honor Society

From left, new Phi Theta Kappa honor society members at Edgecombe Community College include (front row) Carlos Rojas-Gabriel, Rhonda Parrish, Sheleta George, Amiya Smith, Jalyn White, Andrea Loera Valdez, (back) Garrett Staton, Payden Kiser, Kennedy Johnson, Ka’Viya White, Ainsley Hodge, and Anna Brake.

Edgecombe Community College’s Alpha Omega Nu chapter of Phi Theta Kappa welcomed twenty-three new members into its membership recently.

Phi Theta Kappa is an honor society for students attending two-year schools.

The organization held an induction ceremony on the Tarboro campus in November. The guest speaker was Doug Parrish, department chair of Industrial and Technical Trades and 2022-2023 Hitachi Astemo Endowed Faculty Chair recipient. ECC President Dr. Greg McLeod also shared remarks.

Fall 2022 Phi Theta Kappa inductees are:

  • Jaden Alston
  • Breanna Barbee
  • Anna Brake
  • Melvin Bullock
  • Ta’Nya Cole
  • Albino Garcia
  • Yesenia Garcia-Cruz
  • Sheleta George
  • Jacob Hampton
  • Ainsley Hodge
  • Kennedy Johnson
  • Payden Kiser
  • Yari Leyva-Sabalza
  • Andrea Loera Valdez
  • Rhonda Parrish
  • Dinari Reynolds
  • Carlos Rojas-Gabriel
  • Samantha Simmons
  • Amiya Smith
  • Garrett Staton
  • Jacob Walker
  • Jalyn White
  • Ka’Viya White

Tamara Frank-Pourvady, a professional tutor at ECC, serves as advisor to the honor society.

To be a member of Phi Theta Kappa, students must have completed 12 credit hours in an associate degree program and have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher. Students must then maintain at least a 3.25 grade point average to remain in the group.