Student Portal


Nineteen Students Named to Honor Society

From left, new Phi Theta Kappa honor society members at Edgecombe Community College are (front row) Michelle Smith, Abriella Roberts, Ava Cherry, Kamryn Pitt, Kyla McLeod, Aaron Coley, (back row) Tracie Pearsall, Jaquaree Highsmith, Emma Conner, Asa Jenkins, and Spencer Panneton.

Edgecombe Community College’s Alpha Omega Nu chapter of Phi Theta Kappa welcomed nineteen new members into its membership in April.

Phi Theta Kappa is an honor society for students attending two-year schools.

The organization held an induction ceremony on April 28. The guest speaker was Dr. Bruce Panneton, vice president of instruction at the college. ECC President Dr. Greg McLeod and Tamara Frank-Pourvady, chapter advisor, also shared remarks.

Spring 2022 Phi Theta Kappa inductees are:

  • Araminta Burns
  • Ava Cherry
  • Aaron Coley
  • Emma Conner
  • Heather Eatmon
  • Kent Elhoffer
  • Brenda Espinoza
  • Jaquaree Highsmith
  • Asa Jenkins
  • Thomas Lane
  • Kyla McLeod
  • Spencer Panneton
  • Tracie Pearsall
  • Kamryn Pitt
  • Abriella Roberts
  • Michelle Smith
  • Logan Taylor
  • Taniiya White
  • Alexander Whitley

To be a member of Phi Theta Kappa, students must have completed 12 credit hours in an associate degree program and have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher. Students must then maintain at least a 3.25 grade point average to remain in the group.