Student Portal


Twenty Students Named to ECC Honor Society

Twenty students were inducted into Edgecombe Community College’s Phi Theta Kappa honor society in November. From left are (front row) PTK Advisor Tamara Frank-Pourvady, Payton Clark, Taylor Batts, Oscar Lin, Karian Ramirez Sanchez, Jacob Rowe, Sarah Wooten, and ECC President Dr. Greg McLeod. Shown back are Matthew Duff, Brody Hoke, Franklyn Howard, Weiland Smith, and Jeannette McDaniel.

Edgecombe Community College’s Alpha Omega Nu chapter of Phi Theta Kappa recently welcomed twenty new members into its membership.

Phi Theta Kappa is an honor society for students attending two-year schools.

The organization held an induction ceremony in November, marking the first in-person induction ceremony in nearly two years. The guest speaker was Francine Long, math instructor and recent recipient of ECC’s Excellence in Teaching Award. ECC President Dr. Greg McLeod also shared remarks.

Fall 2021 Phi Theta Kappa inductees are:

  • Taylor Batts
  • Krystal Christopher
  • Payton Clark
  • Kara Craddock
  • Matthew Duff
  • Amy Gallimore
  • Emma Harrelson
  • Brody Hoke
  • Franklyn Howard
  • Heather Jones
  • Oscar Lin
  • Jeannette McDaniel
  • Leanne Perry
  • Serena Petway
  • Josh Guevara Robles
  • Jacob Rowe
  • Karian Ramirez Sanchez
  • Weiland Smith
  • Jaleesa Walston
  • Sarah Wooten

Tamara Frank-Pourvady, coordinator of the Tutoring Center at ECC, serves as advisor to the honor society.

To be a member of Phi Theta Kappa, students must have completed 12 credit hours in an associate degree program and have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher. Students must then maintain at least a 3.25 grade point average to remain in the group.

See photos on Facebook