Student Portal


Honor Society Inducts 22 Students

From left, new Phi Theta Kappa honor society members at Edgecombe Community College include (front) Jasmine Brown, Jacob Hyman, Suzanne Foreman, Vicky Akers, Harry Snell, Corey Sherrod, Tiffani Burnette, Kristina Wilson, Quatoshia Hill, (back) Geoffrey Paschal, Wardell Clark, Franklin Keel, Kayla Dennie, Taniqua Rackley, Yolanda Pittman, Karla Smith, and Heather Pridgen.

Edgecombe Community College’s Alpha Omega Nu chapter of Phi Theta Kappa inducted 22 students into its membership during a November 16 induction ceremony held on the Tarboro campus.

Phi Theta Kappa is an honor society for students attending two-year schools.

Two guest speakers presented remarks. Carole Mehle, English/humanities instructor at ECC and the current Keihin Endowed Faculty Chair holder, spoke about dreams and goals.

Tiffiny Wolf, regional secretary of the Phi Theta Kappa Carolinas Region, shared her experiences with the Phi Theta Kappa organization.

Fall 2017 Phi Theta Kappa inductees are Natasha Adams, Vicky Akers, Shelley Anderson, Jasmine Brown, Tiffani Burnette, Wardell Clark, Sarah Coffee, Kayla Dennie, Suzanne Foreman, Quatoshia Hill, Jacob Hyman, Franklin Keel, Michael Parker Jr., Geoffrey Paschal, Amber Perry, Yolanda Pittman, Heather Pridgen, Taniqua Rackley, Corey Sherrod, Karla Smith, Harry Snell, and Kristina Wilson.

Tamara Frank-Pourvady, a tutor at ECC, serves as advisor to the honor society.

To be a member of Phi Theta Kappa, students must have completed 12 credit hours in an associate degree program and have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher. Students must then maintain at least a 3.25 grade point average to remain in the group.